I am proud to announce the beginning of our Lightspeed knighting program. This is an opportunity to earn a rank in the Lightspeed instructional system, marked with a badge that recognizes your hard work. To be a knight you must show progress and/or skill in seven trials:

  1. Speed

  2. Stamina

  3. Strength

  4. Skill

  5. Knowledge

  6. Judgment

  7. and Control

We are still developing the tests for a few of these but for most of them we are ready to test you. For trials such as strength, we will be measuring your IMPROVEMENT and not a universal baseline among all members. So don’t worry if you can’t do that many pushups. We’ll be noting where you’re starting and looking forward to where you end up.

Skill and knowledge, on the other hand, have achievable standards for all. And they both involve knowing and performing the following sequence (skip to about 1:40):

As you can see, this contains one of every move you need to know as a Lightspeed-saber initiate, plus one that you don’t— for a little extra flair and a preview of what you’ll be doing in the future as you advance. Click here to go to the Rey I page where you can get the step list.

One of the coolest things about this is you don’t even have to be here in SoCal to do this program, and you don’t have to compete!

We’ll have more on the other trials shortly. Until then, start practicing this at home. And in between sets, do some pushups, squats, and planks. You’ll need them for your other trials!

Cang Snow